ASUS P7P55D – Enable Wake On LAN (WOL)

I had a lot of trouble with drivers on my Windows 7 64-bit computer setup which exacerbated my trouble with WOL. I had trouble locating the exact procedure and settings for enabling the WOL so that I could wake my computer remotely using my Windows Home Server (WHS). I use the AutoExit utility addin to WHS.

My main misinterpretation was the network adapter setting that stated Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power. Well … I wanted the network  to have standby power for the WOL … so I didn’t want it turned off. Unfortunately, it appears that this is just poor wording on Microsoft’s part as Microsoft’s website states “When checked, power management is enabled on the network adapter”, which is, in fact, exactly what I wanted to do!

So this blog is intended to help any other poor sod with who is befuddled with WOL (particularly on the Asus P7P55D – but it probably applies to the other boards in the series and many other similar boards will have similar settings).

Procedure

  • Update BIOS settings to ensure that the on-motherboard Network adapter can “talk” to the “system.” The diagram below is not the P7P55D (because ASUS does not release circuit diagrams), however I believe their circuitry is similar. So the LAN connects to the system through the PCIe bus.

image

  • Enter the BIOS by selecting Del during power on splash screen
  • Use cursor to select Power menu

image

  • Select APM Configuration
  • Enable Power On By PCIE Devices

 image

  • Select F10 and OK to save and exit, and allow Windows to start
  • Log in, if required
  • Start the Device Manager
  • Select Network Adapters
  • Right click the network adapter and select Properties
  • Go to the Advanced tab
  • Scroll down to Wake on Magic Packet and select value “Enabled.” For debug purposes potentially enable other settings like Wake on pattern match, Shutdown Wake-On-LAN etc. that are specific to your adapter.

image

  • Select the Power Management tab
  • Check the Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power check box
  • Check the Allow this device to wake the computer check box
  • Check Only allow a magic packet to wake the computer check box
  • Click OK.

Background

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee617165(WS.10).aspx

What is Networking Power Management? Networking power management refers to the set of features that you can configure to allow the computers in your network to save energy. For example, the most common networking power management feature is Wake on LAN (sometimes referred to as WoL or WOL). Wake on LAN allows the computer to be woken up from sleep by desired network traffic. This paper describes the networking power management capabilities of Windows 7, how to use them, and what controls you can use to customize their behavior.

Configuring power management using the user interface

To turn power management features on or off:

  • Open Network and Sharing Center (click the Start button, type Network and Sharing in the Start Search box, and press Enter).
  • Click the Change adapter settings link in the upper left of the navigation pane.
  • Right click the network connection you want to enable/disable power management support on and click Properties.
  • Click Configure.
  • On the Power Management tab, check or clear the Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power check box.
    • When checked, power management is enabled on the network adapter.
    • When cleared, power management is disabled on the network adapter.
  • You can enable Wake on LAN for all wake methods or just enable magic packet WoL:
    • To enable Wake on LAN for all methods, check the Allow this device to wake the computer check box.
    • To enable Wake on LAN for magic packet only, check the Allow this device to wake the computer check box and then check Only allow a magic packet to wake the computer check box.
  • Click OK.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ASUS P7P55D – Enable Wake On LAN (WOL)

  1. Jo says:

    Hello,

    I have the same configuration than yours (P7P55D motherboard) and enabled WOL in BIO and Win7.

    The fact is that I can wake up my computer from both LAN and WAN network if I don’t wait too long. However if I wait more than a few minutes, it won’t wake up remotely.

    Any idea?

    Thanks,
    Jo

    • dszigeti says:

      Hey Jo,

      Thanks for reading my post … don’t we all enjoy wrestling with hardware and software 

      Certainly we could be looking for a needle in a haystack … but I would suggest the following actions which (generally) may help:
      1) Ensure your drivers are up to date … I have found that the free version of DriverMax works well in this regard – particularly the network card
      2) On your network card properties, ensure that WOL is enabled:
      a. Device manager
      b. Network adapter/Right click
      c. Properties
      d. Advanced tab
      e. Under the property pull down make sure that al “Wake on” and WOL settings are selected
      f. While you’re here, under the power management tab, check “Allow the computer to turn off this device” and “allow this device to wake up this computer”
      g. OK all the way back out
      3) Ensure that you have AHCI and “power management” enabled in the BIOS so that things go to sleep and wake up correctly … (longshot)

      I would look at the above things, but you know, after writing these suggestions, it dawns on me that your computer is waking up … so it would appear that your settings are correct. Your problem is waiting over a few minutes doesn’t work.

      So your computer is asleep and after a few minutes it goes comatose with respect to WOL? Hmmm … I might move more toward:
      1) Does the computer go into hibernate mode (or another mode)
      2) A hardware problem
      a. Add another network card – disable onboard card
      b. Pull any other board you have installed

      So I am not being all that helpful … but if nothing else works, start disabling/removing software and hardware (I know the net is integrated) and see if that helps.

      I hope all this gives you some ideas … good luck …

      Z

    • dszigeti says:

      Jo,

      I did not actually have the “5-minute” problem … it sounds like a pain. My problem was the overall seetings to get WOL to work. And yes, my system has been working since I detected my misunderstanding of the WOL settings. Unfortunately you will need someone more familiar than me with the inner workings of the WOL to fix your 5-minute problem – I am not aware of anything that would cause this. Good luck.

      Z

      • Jo says:

        Found a solution but don’t remember which.. I’ll check this tonight.
        Thanks for you long time support anyway ;)

  2. Jo says:

    Forgot to tick the mail notification.

  3. Jo says:

    Wow, pretty long and complete answer, thanks! I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog.

    1) Does the computer go into hibernate mode (or another mode)
    > normal sleep mode, I’ve not enabled hibernation yet (didn’t find how to do it in fact, maybe I didn’t mess with the BIOS enough)
    2) A hardware problem
    > I hope not! My motherboard is 5 months old :(

    After reading your reply, I realized this morning that “Allow the computer to turn off this device” and “allow this device to wake up this computer” checkboxes were unchecked. Since when, I don’t know as I’m pretty sure I ticked these boxes a few days ago. I went to work confident and .. damn! Still does not work.

    I’ll try updating my drivers tonight and check/uncheck a few boxes but it’s really a pain in the ass to wait several minutes after each test for the NIC to be really shutdown.

    I’ll keep you informed, might help somebody else ;)

    • Stephan IJpelaar, Netherlands says:

      @Jo:

      I realise it is already half a year ago, but were you already able to fix this? I have the same motherboard, with the same problem. After switching off the computer I am able to start it up agian through WOL, but only within, say 5 minutes. If I wait longer I cannot switch the computer on anymore through WOL. I already updated the drivers for the integrated networkcard on the MB, but that didn’t do i the job.
      I hope you already have a sollution on this.
      Thansk in advance

      • Jo says:

        I know I managed to fix it somehow.. but I don’t remember how, I’ll have to check this tonight at home.

  4. Stephan IJpelaar says:

    Jo,
    Thanks for your quick reply. I will wait “desperately” for your sollution.
    regards,

    Stephan IJpelaar, Netherlands

  5. Dan says:

    Hi Jo
    I have the same problem too – if you can remember what you did to resolve you’d save me from tearing out what little hair I have left :o)

    The weird thing with mine was that it worked perfectly for 2 years, then I unplugged my PC for a couple of days, and now have the ’5 minute’ problem. Checked all BIOS and NIC settings and they look fine to me, and are unchanged from when everything was working.

    thanks
    Dan

  6. Bert-Jan Lap says:

    My computer with a new asus motherboard has EXACTLY this problem. Wake on lan works fine immediately after the pc goes to sleep, but after 5 minutes or so WOL does not work anymore. I have made sure all settings mentioned in BIOS, ethernet adapter and windows 7 (64bit) are set correctly, but to no avail. Any ideas?
    Bert-Jan

  7. Dan says:

    In my case it turned out to be a problem with the settings on my router (which runs custom DD-WRT firmware). It had lost the static ARP entry that you have to configure so the router remembers your PC’s MAC address and knows where to send the magic packet. See this page for more info if you’re using DD-WRT: http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Wake-on-LAN_%28tutorial%29

    Without that static ARP entry, once my PC was shut down the router was forgetting my PC’s MAC address after a few minutes and so didn’t know where to send the WOL packet.

    • dszigeti says:

      Dan,

      Thanks for following up with your solution … I hope that it works for some of the other bloggers here. I am not sure that I have seen that specific setting on my router … but I do know that I have set many of my computers to “static IP” addresses in the router. That is, the router renews the computer IP addresses with the same IP address every time. To do this, the MAC address is also locked in … so maybe I don’t have the problem because of the “static IP” address method that I use. Or maybe it is a problem with a specific router or DD-WRT – we’ll see. :-)

      I anyone else has luck (or no luck) with Dan’s method please post back so that others can benefit.

      • Bert-Jan Lap says:

        Thank you. This fixed theproblem. I logged into my router with telnet and added an ARP entry specifiying the IP address and Mac address of the computer and Wake On Lan works fine now, (fritz.box router)

  8. Jo says:

    That’s what I did last year to solve the problem, thanks for remembering me the solution.

  9. http://bestnaturalhealthsupplements.com says:

    It’s in point of fact a nice and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Quentin says:

    Note that after a BIOS update, the option “EuP Ready” is enabled by default and MUST BE DISABLED for WOL to work.

Leave a Reply

